Short Film #3

It is 3.48am here. I’ve just finished FaceTiming the boyfriend, snuggled up in bed and watched Confessions of a Shopaholic (It’s probably my 5th time watching this). I realise I have 5 weeks left at NYU, and I’m feeling really excited for what’s to come. I’ve got 2 more short films to make, and a script to write, and I’m going to make the most out of my remaining time here.

I’ve just screened my third short film in class, and I still get the jitters. This was a special project to me, because I made this with my amazing, talented friends from SG & we had so much fun filming this during spring break. We even had a mini sleepover party after filming (also because Snowstorm Stella hit NYC so we were trapped). This is a film directed by me, starring Arathi & Hakeem, & shot by Jieying.

e n j o y :

The prompt for this was ‘soft light’, so I basically had to shoot indoors and play with diffused lighting. Preparing for this made me realise how beautiful the lighting along the stairwell in my apartment building was, so I knew I wanted to incorporate that somehow. Plus, it was really nice to film something indoors for a change.

I’m putting together a short behind-the-scenes video too, hehe so that will be up soon next week. If you’ve got any comments, please feel free to text me I’d love to hear from you.

xoxo, Weishi

Leave a Reply

