Another Short Film

Today is Sunday. I basically spent the last two days chilling at home and unleashing the domestic goddess in me haha – I made cajun chicken with pasta, scrambled eggs & kimchi fried rice. & while I was savouring the fruits of my labour, I watched some of my fave comedy films of all time: Rush Hour, Miss Congeniality (1&2), Pitch Perfect & White Chicks. I’m really enjoying the spring break so far & I’m thrilled to be filming my third short film tomorrow!!! Yas, it’s back to the grind.

My second short film was screen in class 3 days ago. I couldn’t sleep the night before, mostly because I was still making last minute changes to the film & partly because I was really nervous. This is a short film directed by yours truly, starring my lovely crew mates Molly & Talia. Any resemblance to actual persons or actual events is purely coincidental.

e n j o y :

The prompt for this film was ‘interactions’, so I was inspired by the close friendship between Molly & Talia, & knew I wanted to somehow represent this relationship in my film. I also wanted to comment on the phenomenon of always looking down at our mobile phones – something I’ve observed after travelling 2 hours to and from school everyday.

The toughest part of this film was the editing process simply because I was unfamiliar with the Premiere Pro editing software (I’ve been using FCP), & I was being really ambitious with the text messaging effect. I am very thankful for Google.

Please let me know what you think after watching the film. I’d love to hear from you! Also in progress, I’m writing something about my experience at NYFW!!

Until then, Weishi.

2 thoughts on “Another Short Film

  1. Hi, I’ve been following you on Instagram for a while and suddenly realized you had a blog and remembered that’s why I wanted to follow you originally. I’m not the brightest but I have to say you seem so sweet. You remind me of my willowy friend at elementary school. Anyway, I watched your film so I thought I’d give my thoughts. I know how valuable feedback is. I’m always happy when people stop to comment on my blog. I thought the film was really well made. It distracted me for a moment that there was no sound – I always wonder if the video is playing correctly – but the close ups do a really good job of showing the emotion. I like the camera swish at the end when they walk past the viewpoint and the text effect looks really good. I don’t know how you did that. So congrats to you and your actors. I’ll be back for more! Love

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Emma! Thank you so much for your message & feedback, it means a lot to me! As part of school we have to make films without sound (at least for the first 3), but this is great ’cause I get to pay more attention to the visual, which is basically how film started out anyway. Thank you so much, I’m happy you enjoyed it. 🙂
      xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

